Search and verify licenses
Sample New Jersey Plumbing License

New Jersey Plumbing License

If you want to work legally as a plumber, you have to obtain a New Jersey plumbing license. The licensing process varies in different states. New Jersey ensures that with the license you can work legally in the area. The licensing process is similar to that of Wisconsin.

Please, keep reading to learn more about the requirements and all the important stages you ought to go through to be a certified professional in NJ.

License requirements

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs offers only one level of permit. However, before earning that you have to go through other two stages: the apprentice and journeyman. Hence, if you wish to acquire your certification, here are some steps you have to follow:

  • Be 18 or more, and have obtained a high school diploma or an equal GED
  • Enroll in a government-approved formal apprenticeship plan or a sponsored program. Moreover, you are required to be enrolled as an apprentice for four years. It will suggest that you train under an expert. Also, you have to pay a fee of $50.
  • Apply for a four-year program in sanitary or mechanical engineering or plumbing
  • Once completing either of the plans, register as a journeyman and train under a master for a year (at least 1,200 hours) (For that, you are supposed to pay an application fee of $75.)

These steps are mandatory for helping you to get ready for your exams.

Master license and exams

After meeting the educational and experience requirements, you can now apply for the master permit. However, you need to be at least 21 years old. Moreover, the application form is online, and as required you pay a $100 fee.

After that, when you receive the board approval, you can take the three examinations. The first one is going to be Trade which is $83. The second one is Business and Law, worth $43. And the third one is practical, costing $103.

After successfully passing them, you are supposed to pay $160 to get the certificate. As a part of the process, the Board might conduct a background check. As you receive the allowance, you will also need to verify it. You should receive it in about 15-20 days. Meanwhile, there is also a $3,000 surety bond. However, if you are planning to work independently, you should also consider the cost of insurance.

Renewal

You have to renew your permit biennially by June 30. The Board will send you a notice about two months prior to the deadline. You can renew your NJ plumbing license online. You have to pay a $160 fee. Besides, you will have to show evidence of finishing your continuing education and obtain a surety bond for the same duration.

You must also complete five credits of continuing education at a Board-approved course every two years. If you wish to know more about it, you can find more information on the NJ Board’s official website.

Reciprocity

If you have already been licensed in another state, you might want to know whether or not you have to go through the whole process and register as a plumber in NJ. Unfortunately, NJ does not have any reciprocity agreements with other states. Hence, moving from or to this state will require you to repeat the entire process.

Contacts

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street
Newark, New Jersey 07102
Tel: (973) 504-6200