You have to obtain an HVAC license in New Jersey. If you get a license, you will have much more benefits than technicians that do not have a license.
Unlike other states, there are no types of licenses in New Jersey. There is only one type of license: it is a master HVAC contractor license. If you obtain this license, you can work on ventilation, heating, refrigeration, and air conditioning. You have a chance to work as a contractor in your own business.
If you obtain an HVAC license in New Jersey, the average salary will be under $74,000.
In order to get an HVAC license, you have to pay $100.00 for the application fee. You have to provide proof of liability insurance and a $3,000 guarantor bond. The bond is a guarantee that you can operate the HVAC contractor business aligned with state rules and regulations.
There are two types of requirements when you apply for the license.
In order to get an associate’s degree in the HVAC industry from a trade school or technical college, you must get several years of experience. You can complete a four-year bachelor’s degree in HVAC or a related field in order to be qualified. The school you attend will have its requirements. Both commercial and residential HVAC services will be covered by four-year programs. There are top colleges and universities in New Jersey for HVAC or mechanical engineering degrees. So here they are:
If your bachelor’s degree is related to the HVAC field, you have to gain three years of work experience. But if you completed a vocational training program, you only need two years of experience.
In order to get the required experience, you can get an entry-level position or an apprenticeship. It takes five years to complete a full apprenticeship. And you will gain 1,700-2,000 hours of experience. If you work five years in another state, it will qualify you for a license.
The New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Ventilating, Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors issue an HVAC contractor license.
You can find a master HVAC contractor license application on the state board’s website. You have to submit it online and send it with a fee, which is $100.00. For the HVAC license exam, you can find two components.
There are 50 questions for a trade exam. You have to answer them in 130 minutes. In order to pass the examination, you have to answer at least 35 of them correctly.
There are 50 questions for the business and law examination, too. And you have to answer them in 130 minutes. 35 of the questions must be completed correctly in order to pass the exam. You cover the main subject in the exam So here they are:
You have to renew your HVAC license in New Jersey. You will receive a reminder to renew your license 60 days before the license expires. In order to renew it, you will need to complete a total of five credits of continuing education every two years. For the renewal, you have to pay $160.00.
In order to be qualified for the HVAC license, you will need five years. When you apply for it, it will take a month for the approval of your application. And after the application approval, you will receive your license within 15-20 days.