Are you looking forward to starting a career in the beauty industry in New Jersey? If you are, you have definitely wondered how long the cosmetology school will take you to complete. You may also have questions about the licensing policy.
To obtain a cosmetology license in New Jersey, you need a Ney Jersey cosmetology license lookup, which will guide you through the licensing and provide some helpful tips.
For the beginning, you must be at least 17 years old and have your high school diploma (or its equivalent).
If you meet these prerequisites, you can start the licensing process.
The training and education requirement for a future cosmetologist is to complete 1200 hours of a cosmetology and hairstyling program. For manicurists, the number of required hours is 300, while for skin care specialist it is 600.
The learning process in cosmetology schools is quite interesting and engaging. Most of the classes include practical hours, during which you will get the opportunity to practice your skills on real-life models.
The cosmetology programs, in particular, cover laws, rules, regulations, facials and massage, skin care, make-up, eyebrow arching and management. They also provide professional knowledge on shampooing and rinsing, hair and scalp treatments, basic cuts and hairstyling, color theory and so on.
As a result, not only will you become a skilled cosmetologist, but you will also gain a common grasp of business ethics and interpersonal relations.
Once you get the knowledge you need to become a cosmetologist in New Jersey, you are to take the Board exam. The latter comprises of two parts- written and practical.
For the written part, you will answer questions, which cover basic sanitation, hairstyling, and ethical skills. The questions also include rules and laws connected with the New Jersey cosmetology field.
For the practical part, you will demonstrate your abilities as a cosmetologist. The examiners will ask you to perform cosmetology procedures on mannequins. Therefore, it is useful to bring your own tools and products to avoid problems.
Note that you cannot take the practical exam, if you fail the test part.
You will get your New Jersey cosmetology license after taking and successfully passing the Board exam.
If you are still studying at the cosmetology school, you may apply for a student license. It will allow you to work as a cosmetologist while you are still a student. You will be able to get your permanent license after graduating from the cosmetology program. Click here to apply for the student license.
In similar fashion, you may also apply for a temporary permit to practice as a cosmetologist before you become a licensed cosmetologist. Pay attention to the fact that this license is temporary and is only valid for 120 days.
In New Jersey, you must renew your cosmetology license every two years on even numbered years.
It is important to know, that there is no requirement to complete continuing education for license renewal.
Nevertheless, it is preferable to complete some courses to stay in touch with new beauty trends and methods.
Sometimes people wonder whether they need a license to be a hairstylist. Every state has its rules for different professions.
The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling regulates the licensing process and refers to various cases for beauty services.
Yes, it is illegal to cut hair without a license. Therefore, you must obtain a New Jersey license to cut hair. If you perform or offer beauty services without having a cosmetology license, you will violate the law.